SharkBytes Archives


Division of Public Relations and Marketing Communications
Nova Southeastern University
3301 College Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33314-7796

(954) 262-5353
(800) 541-6682 x25353
Fax: (954) 262-3954

NSU’s Public Safety Department Hosts Annual Award of Merit Luncheon

Back row, L to R: NSU Chancellor Ray Ferrero, Jr.; NSU President Emeritus Abraham S. Fischler; Town of Davie Councilmember Susan Starkey; Town of Davie Chief of Police Patrick Lynn; NSU President George Hanbury; Town of Davie Mayor Judy Paul; Town of Davie Officer K. Rubin; Jacqueline Travisano, NSU Executive Vice President/COO; Jim Ewing, Public Safety Director and Emcee for the event; Pete Witschen, Vice President of Facilities Management. Seated, L to R: From the Town of Davie-Police Major James Moyer, Officer J. Bogdon, and Officer J. Yaeger.

Nova Southeastern University’s (NSU) Public Safety Department recently held its Award of Merit ceremony, which coincided with Public Safety’s 25th Anniversary of dedicated service to the NSU community. The emcee for the event was Public Safety Director Jim Ewing, and approximately eighty people attended, including University President and Chief Executive Officer George Hanbury, Ph.D., Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer  Jacqueline Travisano, Vice President of Facilities Management Pete Witschen, President Emeritus Abraham S. Fischler, Ed.D., and Chancellor Ray Ferrero, Jr., J.D. Representing the Town of Davie were Mayor Judy Paul, Councilmember Susan Starkey, Chief of Police Patrick Lynn, and Police Major James Moyer.

The Public Safety Department presented five recipients with awards. The Public Safety Partnership Award, which is awarded to organizations that have provided exceptional service in support of NSU’s crime prevention philosophy and the University’s vision, was presented to the Town of Davie Police Department.

The Public Safety Team Player Award is awarded to an individual for their spirit of cooperation with the Public Safety Department in providing safety and service to the NSU community. The recipients of this award were Director of Risk Management Elizabeth Guimaraes and University School’s Associate Head of External Relations Giovanna Stincer.

The Public Safety Service Award is awarded to an individual for their dedication and service to the NSU community in providing Public Safety core values in safety, professionalism, crime prevention, and customer service with pride and dignity. NSU Locksmith Melissa Crawford was the recipient of this award.

The Public Safety Employee of the Year Award, the Public Safety Department’s highest honor, is bestowed upon a Public Safety team member who has served to exemplify the values and mission of the Public Safety Department. Public Safety Investigations Coordinator Erika McLeod was honored with this award.