SharkBytes Archives


Division of Public Relations and Marketing Communications
Nova Southeastern University
3301 College Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33314-7796

(954) 262-5353
(800) 541-6682 x25353
Fax: (954) 262-3954

Five NSU University School Students Qualify as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

NSU University School students qualify for the National Merit Schorlarship

NSU University School students qualify for the National Merit Scholarship

Congratulations to Avani Choudhary, Emma Duval, Rhys Murray, Cory Riegelhaupt, and Peri Shechtman who have been selected as Semifinalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition to earn 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning a Merit Scholar Title.

Approximately 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQ), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

Congratulations to our five incredible Sharks!