SharkBytes Archives


Division of Public Relations and Marketing Communications
Nova Southeastern University
3301 College Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33314-7796

(954) 262-5353
(800) 541-6682 x25353
Fax: (954) 262-3954

CPS School Psychology Program Site Facilitator Selected as School Psychologist of the Year

Jane Lazarus, Ed.S., NCSP

Students and faculty from NSU’s Center for Psychological Studies (CPS) gave 13 presentations and participated in 7 poster sessions during the 38th annual conference of the Florida Association of School Psychologists (FASP) was held Nov. 1- 5 at the Omni Orlando Resort in Championsgate, Fl.

Each year during the FASP annual conference, the contributions of individuals and programs that promote the well being of children and advance the field of School Psychology are recognized.

Jane Lazarus, Ed.S., NCSP (Broward County) and CPS School Psychology program site facilitator won the award for School Psychologist of the Year.  She will be nominated by FASP for this distinction at the national level through the National Association School Psychologists.

The following CPS students, alumni and staff were also recognized:

FASP Graduate Studies-Doctoral Level:
•    Bianca Basile

School Psychologist of the Year Nominees:
•    Adrienne Avallone, Psy.S., NCSP (Palm Beach County) – CPS alum
•    Dave Ramos, Psy.S., NCSP (Palm Beach County –  CPS alum

The FASP was formed to promote and advocate for the mental health and educational development of Florida’s children, youth and families in educational systems and communities; and to advance the profession of school psychology in the state. The organization is comprised of more than 1,000 school psychologists working in 67 districts and a variety of private and alternative settings.