SharkBytes Archives


Division of Public Relations and Marketing Communications
Nova Southeastern University
3301 College Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33314-7796

2018 NSU Distinguished Alumni Award Winners


Nova Southeastern University salutes outstanding graduates at the Distinguished Alumni Achievement Awards ceremony, the highest and most prestigious honor that NSU bestows upon its graduates. The program recognizes alumni who have realized their potential around the world by demonstrating a record of distinguished service and extraordinary achievement in a particular profession, discipline, organization or community cause. The recognition event was recently held at NSU’s Alvin Sherman Library Cotilla Gallery in Davie, Florida.

“There are many ways to determine the value of a university,” said Dr. George Hanbury, President and CEO of NSU. “I believe that one of the most important ways is by what our graduates bring to the communities across the country and around the world after graduation. These honorees make NSU proud!”

2018 Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

Abraham S. Fischler College of Education Jeffrey Scarpiello
College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Michelle Cromwell, Ph.D
College of Dental Medicine Irene Marron-Tarrazzi, D.M.D., M.S
College of Engineering and Computing John (Jack) Freund, Ph.D.
Dr. Pallavi Patel College of Health Care Sciences Adrian Lane
Ron and Kathy Assaf College of Nursing Deborah Tedder
College of Optometry Denise Burns-LeGros, O.D., FAAO
Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine Randy Katz, D.O., FACEP
College of Pharmacy Dave Lacknauth, PharmD
College of Psychology Dwight Hollier, LPC, NCC
Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography Nicholas W. Carris, PharmD, BCPS
H. Wayne Huizenga College of Business & Entrepreneurship Chantal Leconte
Shepard Broad College of Law Gerald Morris
NSU University School Marla Neufeld