Search NSU News Center

News Releases Archive


Division of Public Relations and Marketing Communications
Nova Southeastern University
3301 College Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33314-7796

(954) 262-5353
(800) 541-6682 x25353
Fax: (954) 262-3954

NSU’s Undergraduate Programs Announce the 2012–2013 Outstanding Students

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. Each spring, Nova Southeastern University’s (NSU) Undergraduate Commencement ceremony recognizes the achievements of students and the support of faculty, family members, and the community.

The following graduating students have been selected by faculty and academic leadership in their respective school and/or division and will be recognized during this year’s Commencement ceremony, for their academic achievement and service to the community.

Adielle Silochan - 2012-2013 James Farquhar Award Recipient. Award recognizes all-around achievement in scholarship, service, and leadership.

Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences | Division of Humanities

—Kelsey Cortez, a communication studies major from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

—Yineth Sanchez, a double major in legal studies and philosophy originally from Cartagena, Colombia. Sanchez will also speak at the Commencement ceremony on behalf of this year’s graduating class.

Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences | Division of Math, Science, and Technology

—Daniel Vesco, a biology major from Pembroke Pines, Florida

—Sharbel Bousemaan, a computer science major from Hollywood, Florida

Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences | Division of Performing and Visual Arts

—Devan Martin, a graphic design major from Johns Creek, Georgia

Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences | Division of Social and Behavioral Sciences
—Isaac Chayo, a psychology major from Mexico City, Mexico

—Marisa Stryker, a sociology major from St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Abraham S. Fischler School of Education

—Phyllis Mejia, an exceptional student education major from Miami, Florida

—Christopher Clevenger, a secondary social studies education major from Deerfield Beach, Florida

H. Wayne Huizenga School of Business and Entrepreneurship
—Ahad Jafri, an accounting major from Parkland, Florida

—Amber Chang, a business administration major from Sunrise, Florida

College of Health Care Sciences

—Lauren Lichtman, a vascular sonography major from Chapel Hill, North Carolina

—Kristina Lazerus, a vascular sonography major from Jacksonville, Florida

College of Nursing

—Christopher Larrinaga, a nursing major from Hialeah, Florida

—Gagan Patel, a nursing major from Ahmedabad, India

In addition, the James Farquhar Award is presented to recognize an undergraduate student’s all-around achievement in scholarship, service, and leadership. A committee composed of faculty and staff members reviews nominations for the award.

2012–2013 James Farquhar Award Recipient

—Adielle Silochan, a music major from Sunrise, Florida

The Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony will take place:

Saturday, May 11
11:00 a.m.
BB&T Center (formerly BankAtlantic Center) | Sunrise, Florida
Tickets are not required for admission.

Media Contact:
Felecia Henderson, Associate Director
Office of Public Affairs
Office – 954.262.5315
Cell – 954.383.4695