Search NSU News Center

News Releases Archive


Division of Public Relations and Marketing Communications
Nova Southeastern University
3301 College Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33314-7796

(954) 262-5353
(800) 541-6682 x25353
Fax: (954) 262-3954

Nova Southeastern University Celebrates 50th Anniversary

FORT LAUDERDALE-DAVIE, Fla.– February 19, 2014 –

NSU President George L. Hanbury II, Ph.D. presents Winifred and Joseph Amaturo with the President’s Award for Excellence in Community Service at the Celebration of Excellence event

NSU President George L. Hanbury II, Ph.D. presents Winifred and Joseph Amaturo with the President’s Award for Excellence in Community Service at the Celebration of Excellence event

More than 750 community leaders, philanthropists, university executives, faculty and students recently gathered at Nova Southeastern University (NSU) to celebrate the university’s golden anniversary.

The Celebration of Excellence event raised more than $100,000 to fund scholarships for students. Guests enjoyed a special performance by Grammy Award-winning artist Melissa Manchester.

As special part of the event, NSU President George L. Hanbury, Ph.D., presented the President’s Award for Excellence in Community Service to philanthropists Winifred and Joseph Amaturo.

Established in 1997, the President’s Excellence in Community Service Award recognizes extraordinary professional engagement activities by a member of the South Florida community. The award encourages the ongoing pursuit of service and exemplifies NSU’s “community” core value.

“As we celebrate NSU’s 50th anniversary, it is fitting that we honor two members of our family who helped us get to where we are today,” said President Hanbury. “Mr. and Mrs. Amaturo are exemplary citizens of our community and stewards of NSU’s legacy. They have made a lasting impact and they deserve to be recognized on a grand stage for their hard work and commitment to our future.”

The Amaturos are models of providing excellence in community service. They dedicate their time between a variety of philanthropic causes, most prominently the Amaturo Family Foundation and the furtherance of the Catholic religion.

Winifred is president of the Foundation, which funds educations, medical research, and the arts. For example, the Foundation supports an advanced reading program for more than 5,000 children in Broward County.

She has also served on the boards of St. Thomas University, Boston College and Joe DiMaggio Children’s Hospital and is currently on the Ambassadors’ Council of The Pantry of Broward.

Joseph, who holds a MBA from Harvard, is a prominent entrepreneur having owned and managed 22 radio and television stations and served as chairman of MUVICO Theaters, Inc.

He is active through both his family Foundation and through other organizations like the Broward County Performing Arts Center, YMCA, United Way of Broward County, and Urban League.

In 1994, NSU inducted Joseph into the H. Wayne Huizenga School of Business and Entrepreneurship’s Hall of Fame to honor his outstanding achievements and his willingness to contribute time, effort and resources to programs and activities that enhance the quality of life in our communities. He was honored with NSU’s first “Doctor of Commerce Honorary Citation” by former NSU President Abraham S. Fischler in 1998.

Community sponsors of the event included Presenting Sponsor: Panza, Maurer & Maynard, P.A.;Entertainment Sponsor: ANF Group; Champion Sponsors: ACAI Associates, Inc., Grycon, LLC, JM Family Enterprises, SunTrust, and University Associates; Leader Sponsors: Colonial Consulting, Cruisin Community, Fahlgren Mortine, Gallo Herbert Architects, JD Backhoe, JWR Construction, and Korn Ferry; Catering Sponsor: Chartwells; and Media Sponsor: Sun-Sentinel.


For more information on NSU’s 50th anniversary and events commemorating this occasion, please

Previous Community Service Award Winners:

  • 2013: Guy Harvey, Ph.D.
  • 2012: Ron and Kathy Assaf
  • 2011: Mike Jackson and David Horvitz and Francie Bishop Good
  • 2010: John C. Johnson and Don Taft
  • 2009: I. Lorraine Thomas
  • 2008: Claire and Dan Marino
  • 2007: Frank Till, Jr. Ed.D. and David H. Rush
  • 2006: Alvin Sherman, August Urbanek
  • 2005: Wayne and Marti Huizenga
  • 2004: August and Toni Paoli, Morton and Geraldine Terry
  • 2003: Jim and Jan Moran
  • 2000: Robert and Millicent Steele
  • 1999: William and Norma Horvitz
  • 1998: Leo Goodwin, Sr.
  • 1997: Abraham L. Mailman

# # #


About Nova Southeastern University: Situated on 314 beautiful acres in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, Nova Southeastern University (NSU) is a dynamic fully accredited research institution dedicated to providing high-quality educational programs at all levels.  NSU is a not-for-profit independent institution with 27,000 students. NSU awards associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s, specialist, doctoral and first-professional degrees in a wide range of fields. NSU is classified as a research university with “high research activity” by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, and it is one of only 37 universities nationwide to also be awarded Carnegie’s Community Engagement Classification. For more information, please visit www.nova.eduCelebrating 50 years of academic excellence!


Media Contacts:

Julie Spechler | Office of Public Affairs
954-262-5348 (office)
954-593-3361 (cell)

Jeremy Katzman, M.B.A. | Office of Public Affairs
954-262-5408 (office)
954-661-7000 (cell)